Five Minutes of Fiction

I am actively working on improving my writing.  Yay me!

Austin, my friend over at The Modern Philosopher agreed to give me some tips/advice/feedback because he’s just awesome like that.  So here is my first little exercise, I welcome all (constructive) feedback!

Take this opening phrase: Sam wasn’t sure if it was a wonderful sign or a sign of disaster but Sam knew… Write down that fictional opener, then keep going. Freewrite, meaning write without stopping or even thinking too much, just scribble away however things come out. You should write for at least five minutes but feel free to go as long as you like. No one will see this but you, and you have permission for this to be nothing but gibberish. Just feel what it’s like to write in a white heat.

Sam wasn’t sure if it was a wonderful sign or a sign of disaster but Sam knew this was going to change his life forever. Sam was a simple guy, he liked his blue jeans and sneakers, didn’t see much point in dressing up for anything. He’s the quiet type, but not because he’s got nothing to say. No, it seems more like he’s very picky about who he shares his thoughts with, like they are sacred and only a few people would understand. So when Jessica walked through the door of the coffee shop, it was no surprise that Sam was speechless. She had walked out of his life five years ago, not to be seen or heard from since, until today. What’s she doing here? Is it just coincidence that she walked into this coffee shop, or did she know he was there for his daily dose of caffeine. Sam looked stunned, like a deer in headlights. Jessica hadn’t seen him yet, he was off in the corner talking to Old Man Jones about a horse when she walked to the counter.

So that’s what I got in five minutes!

WOOT!

#amwriting

5 thoughts on “Five Minutes of Fiction

  1. I didn’t get a link to that even though you mentioned my blog. Weird. What’s up with that?

    As for the writing itself. Good job. Of course, upon reading the prompt, I thought Sam was a woman, so I would’ve taken this in a whole other direction. 🙂

    We could talk more, of course, about how to make it better if you’d like. Let me know.

    Keep at it, though. Just keep writing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Engage with me! What are your thoughts on this?

