Papa Bear, I Love You

This is a re-post from last year, as every word written remains true to my heart ❤

circa 1984

circa 1984

Papa Bear,

Even if I knew every language ever created, there would not be enough ways for me to tell you how much you mean to me.  You have been my hero for as long as I can remember, and I cherish being daddy’s little girl.  You have taught me so much about life and love and what I want to be when I become a parent.  You’ve stood by me at my best, but more importantly at my worst.  I’m pretty sure I was a nightmare as a teenager, and I know it broke your heart when I succumbed to my mental illness in my early 20’s, and I know you were worried for me when I moved to Florida for this next chapter of my life.  And through all of it, every single minute of it, you made sure I knew how much you loved me and that we would get through anything together.  I want you to know that THAT is what has made all the difference in my life.  I would not have the strength I have today if I hadn’t had you to teach me how to be strong over the years.  I honestly can’t imagine there is any better father than you have been to me, and there is no greater gift in life that a daughter can receive.  In everything I do I strive to make you proud, even though I know you’re proud of me no matter what.  My desire to help others comes from the love you’ve shown me, and the importance of my impact on the world around me was instilled by you.  So, on this day of celebrating fathers, I celebrate you wholeheartedly and although distance separates us now, I am always with you in spirit.  Thank you Daddy, for everything.

Love,

Baby Bear

December 6, 2014

December 6, 2014

8 thoughts on “Papa Bear, I Love You

  1. Hi Abbie, I’m a new follower & loved this post, how splendidly perfect! I spent this evening w/ your dad & mom tonight- and I can agree that they ARE that special! After speaking w/ your mom tonight I heard so much of you- in me, & visa-versa, it’s pretty uncanny actually.
    I look forward to reading your blog & also getting to know you, Abbie. Bravo on your post to your Dad! I especially loved what you wrote about your desire to help others comes from the love you’re dad has shown you, and the importance of your impact on the world around you. You’re a special girl, Abbie. Fondly, Julie Shay

    Like

    • I’m honored to have you follow my blog Julie 🙂 It has been such a long time since I’ve seen you or your parents, but I was always inspired by YOU! I remember hearing about your jewelry designing and was always so impressed! Thank you for following, and commenting, I really appreciate it!

      Like

Engage with me! What are your thoughts on this?

