Essential Tools – My Process

Happy Saturday Friends!

Today I thought I would talk a little about my creative process.

My work desk

My work desk

Ok, so it’s an organized mess.  Well actually it’s not all that organized, but I seem to work well this way!  This desk has been in my family for a long time, it was my mother’s when she was a child, my sister used it when we were kids, and now I use it for jewelry design!  The chair is even older, I believe it was my great grandmother’s and came to Iowa via covered wagon.  The history behind the desk gives me inspiration as I create.

My Tools

My Tools

The tools pictured above are my must-haves in making jewelry, I couldn’t do it without them. From left to right: curved nose pliers come in handy for many wrapping situations, the wire straightener is absolutely essential – it’s kind of like the “undo” tool on computers, then there is the round nose pliers which are especially useful in completing bails, and finally the side cutters for cutting wire (ok so that one is kind of obvious).  I also use a flexible ruler when I need precise measurements, but I usually just guess how much I need based on the project I’m doing.  I’m pretty sure there are a million different ways to do wire wrapped jewelry, but these are the tools that work for my style.

Should I write a step-by-step post to show the making of one piece from beginning to end?  Opinions please!!!

Thanks for stopping by darlings, I truly appreciate it!  XOXO

8 thoughts on “Essential Tools – My Process

  1. I treasure the things that have been handed down to me from my mother and my grandmother. The connection to those who have gone before makes all the difference! And it’s a definite yes from me too, I’d enjoy following your step by step process.

    Like

Engage with me! What are your thoughts on this?

