Progress!

Well folks, it’s Monday again and I am starting off the week feeling a tad better about myself! You may know that I have been struggling with my creative process since my car accident a little over a month ago, and I am proud to say I finally made a new piece!  This is not to say that I have overcome my emotional turmoil over the weekend, but it is definitely progress.

I have been doing so many craft projects lately, my friend Amy says it’s “Art Therapy With Abbie” and I suppose she is kind of right.  My fiancé, our two best friends, and the young girl I mentor all gather in our garage and spend hours crafting.  So much so that I have forbidden myself to go to Michael’s for awhile, I’ve spent way too much money on all of this!  We even went to Lowe’s and got a long table so we could set up a work station in the garage, and we have so much stuff (and so many people) we might have to go back and get another one.  Here is one project we finished over the weekend…

Robby's is on the left mine is on the right

Robby’s is on the left
mine is on the right

All of this crafting, which has been a lot of fun, really is kind of like therapy.  It has been my way of trying to find the path back to my passion for jewelry making, which has been eluding me since the accident.  I know it’s there, tucked away, hiding somewhere inside me while I heal from this traumatic experience; but the knowledge does not ease my frustration.

Yesterday I picked up my tools with a touch of hesitation.  I picked out one of the most beautiful stones I have and tried to get comfortable.  I don’t know how to describe what I was feeling, I mean, why am I so reluctant to do something I love??  I do not have all of the answers, and I am seeking professional therapy to guide my healing process.  But yesterday I did pick up my tools and that beautiful stone, I wrapped and re-wrapped it (and re-wrapped the re-wrap) and I still wasn’t convinced it was good enough.  Yet I finished it, and then I allowed myself to like it.  I photographed it for the listing and realized it really is beautiful.
This is what progress looks like…

Purple Sea Sediment Jasper Wire Wrapped Pendant

Purple Sea Sediment Jasper Wire Wrapped Pendant

Hopefully there will be more progress, and more new pieces of jewelry, in the weeks to come.  So do me a favor and go check out the Contortum Designs Etsy Shop!  And let me know if you like what you see!

Thank you (yes YOU) for joining me on this journey.  The support and encouragement I have found in the blogosphere has astounded and humbled me, and I want you to know that I appreciate it greatly.  XOXO

16 thoughts on “Progress!

  1. In the spirit of you….. I learned a few basic and new to me techniques in wire wrapping this last weekend. I live it! Thank you for your inspiration 😉 I’m glad to hear you are feeling a tad better and were able to sit down and face your jewelry. I know EXACTLY what you mean about sitting in front if your favorite thing (mine is sewing) and want to, but you just can’t make your hands or head do it. That is the plague of depression, what a bitch eh?

    Like

  2. It’s stunning! Good on you 🙂
    My crafting is also my therapy and my meditation, sometimes it’s the only way to switch off those evil thought demons in my head and relax, keep it up and please keep posting!!

    Like

  3. Thank you for writing so openly and honestly! This week I will teach my first music class in years, I’ve been very ill. One of the things I struggled with is that I lost interest in making music, which was my big passion. Now loosing music got me making jewelry instead, so it wasn’t all bad and creative juices will flow anyway. But it’s been great slowly picking this up again, allowing myself to take tiny steps and enjoy those. When you wrote about your pendant that resonated with me, even though we are in different situations. It’s a relief to read I’m not the only one. And I hope my experience can be a little encouragement to you: it really does come back. Taking small steps and allowing yoursel to appreciate those is already a big step forward! Thank you, and I’m looking forward to more of your writing!

    Like

    • It’s amazing how knowing we are not alone makes such a big difference 🙂 I’m so glad you were able to connect with my writing, and congratulations on the new class!!! Thank you for your support, I really appreciate it!

      Like

Engage with me! What are your thoughts on this?

