A Good Friday Indeed

Aside from my paid jobs (caring for an elderly man and facilitating groups for kids whose parents are divorced/separated) I also volunteer my time four days a week mentoring a wonderful twelve year old girl who lives in a homeless shelter (I’ll refer to her as *Angel here).  Her dad recently got a full-time job and she is not allowed to be at the shelter without her dad there, so I pick her up from Boys and Girls Club and she stays with me.  I have worked with a lot of at-risk youth in my professional career and this young lady is the only one I know I do not need to worry about.  Despite her situation (mom was recently released from prison and lives in a halfway house), she has a great attitude and a good head on her shoulders.  Spending time with her refreshes my spirit and recharges my creative batteries, as she always wants to do crafty projects.  She is not only an inspiration to me, my fiancé (Zach) and my closest friend (Robby) also partake in the fun.  As of late the medium of interest is spray paint, she even spray painted the handle of the toilet plunger!

There was no school on Friday because of the holiday so we took *Angel to Michael’s and got some supplies.  She had saved up her allowance and had almost seventeen dollars, which she spent getting materials to make Easter baskets for two of the younger girls who live at the shelter with her.  Yep, she spent all of her own money to make other homeless children’s Easter a little brighter.  If that doesn’t inspire you, nothing will.  Zach, Robby and I bought plenty of supplies for all of us so she could make something for herself as well.

Our collaborative project was a shadowbox with a cute little owl as the centerpiece!

image While we all participated in making the shadowbox, which took a really long time with different layers of paint having to dry and such, we had individual projects as well.  I decided to make a plaque with Zach’s and my initials, and I documented the process…

the background

the background

filigree accent

filigree accent

pre-paint

pre-paint

our initials

our initials

background painted

background painted

filigree painted

filigree painted

Can you see it coming together?!  Spray paint is seriously fun!
Once all the paint was dry I used wood glue to put it all together, and we have our final product!

Finished!

Finished!

I am extremely pleased with how this piece turned out!  I have a feeling this will hang somewhere in our home for a long time to come.  And I had so much fun making it!

Well, thanks for stopping by, I hope you enjoyed the read!  As always, comments are very much appreciated!  Happy Monday folks!  XOXO

6 thoughts on “A Good Friday Indeed

Engage with me! What are your thoughts on this?

