He Saved Me From Myself

image

It is one of those postcard perfect spring days; warm but not hot, breezy but not windy, a few clouds decorate the bright blue sky but it’s not overcast. I smile as I watch him walk toward me, looking just as he did when we first met all those years ago. He hugs me, with a strength meant to make up for lost time, and we sit down. As beautiful as the view is, we know there is not much time and there is so much to say. Simply saying hello brings tears to my eyes, and I know in a moment they will slide gently down my cheeks. He is used to seeing me cry, but this time my tears are for him.

If you would like to read more of this post please click >>> HERE <<<

XOXO

 

10 thoughts on “He Saved Me From Myself

  1. What a beautiful, heartfelt piece of writing. It means a lot to me that you wrote this in response to the writing prompt I posted on my blog. You write about something very personal to you, but also it is something that means a lot to many of us – it is the vital importance of having one person you can turn to who understands and who can help you. Wishing you healing, peace and many moments of joy as you continue your healing journey. Marie x

    Like

  2. this story was so beautiful! I cried, and felt so grateful that you shared it with us. I can only imagine what swelled in your heart as you wrote about the love, the sadness, and the thankfulness you exchanged with a once-in-a-lifetime person, your doctor, your dear friend. I hope it helps you to heal and feel a deep sense of comfort.

    much love and light,

    Karen xoxo

    Like

    • Thank you so much, for reading, for commenting, and for your kind words! I cried writing it but it also gave me a sense of closure, that last conversation I never got to have. I’m really glad I wrote it, and I’m glad you connected with it!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Round Up: Our Stories Edition | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

  4. This is so moving. I love the image of the conversation on the bench. This brought me to tears too, yet these words needed to be said. Marie also gave me the prompt to write something difficult and how interesting it was admitting my own depression. Thank you for sharing such a personal story.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Making Jewelry Is The Least of My Concerns – A New Contortum Designs | Contortum Designs

Engage with me! What are your thoughts on this?

