The Journey To Find My Passion

Hi 🙂 Being that I’m writing this on December 25th, allow me to wish you all a Merry Christmas!  I am currently at work, my job as a home health aide, because hospice patients need care even on Christmas Day!  I am totally ok with working today, not only because I get paid time and a half on holidays (though that’s great), but because I believe there is no better way to celebrate this holiday than by caring for someone in need.  It makes me grateful for my own health and that of my family, and grateful that I have a job when so many do not.

So, anyway… my topic today is about my journey to find where I fit in to the world of artisians!

I have had a fascination with small, shiny things since I was a little munchkin.  I loved anything I could fit in the palm of my hand, things I could carry around with me, like a little security blanket kinda.  It was my thing.  As I got older I loved taking art classes and proudly identified myself as the creative-artsy type.  In high school I took a jewelry-making class and got my first taste of metalwork! I still have a ring that I made in that class, and I still love it.  I tried many different mediums of art over the years; from pastels to colored pencils to photography to pottery, trying to find where I fit in, what my true passion was.

A few years ago I took another jewelry-making class through The Des Moines Art Center: Beginning Jewelry – explore cutting, filing, shaping, and soldering through a project-oriented and structured class as you learn the foundation of metalsmithing. It was a wonderful class and I learned A LOT.  But I knew I couldn’t afford the equipment for all of the advanced jewelry-making.  So I kept searching for where I fit in.  Then I found this amazing little bead shop called Fishlips3 Beads & Blues (funny name, right?!) in Valley Junction, which is a small shopping district in West Des Moines, Iowa.  They are much more than a little bead shop, they offer jewelry-making classes from beadwork to wire wrappinng.  Ding Ding Ding!   I took the introductory wire wrapping class, which was a one-time three hour class.  From there I started playing with wire, researching different ways to wrap, and finding inspiration from other wrappers.

I opened my Etsy shop on September 4, 2013 (www.contortum.etsy.com) and have received some wonderful feedback!  The possibilities are endless with wrapping and there are so many things I want to try!  I hope you will join me in this journey, your suggestions and comments are how I keep learning and growing, they are very much appreciated!

2 thoughts on “The Journey To Find My Passion

  1. Pingback: Making Jewelry Is The Least of My Concerns – A New Contortum Designs | Contortum Designs

Engage with me! What are your thoughts on this?

